Crepidotus variabilis? (see under picture for actual ID) & P.S.

Returning from my night mushroom walk my gloved fingers were feeling a tad numb.  Clearly I need to find better gloves than any of my current three pairs, or perhaps mittens? 

On my walk I encountered a # of mushrooms.  The one I’m seeking to confirm my ID on is this Crepidotus variabilis.

  1. Found on a log.
  2. very small (perhaps a 1/4″ diameter)
  3. stipe practically nothing
  4. fur-like projections on outer surface
  5. taste: very strong fungal flavor (I imagine a tiny amount of mushroom powder from this would be extremely potent)
  6. odor: undetectable
  7. texture: tough, in this dry state, but I can’t speak for how it would be after getting wet a while (may be similar to Exidia recisa, which is quite tough until it sits in water a little while)

Pictures attached of this very tiny and hard to photograph (due to size and lighting) mushroom. 

Sam

P.S. I got a faint spore print, finally, on what looks like a faded brick cap in most ways that I’m very appreciative of the 2 other ideas of what it could have been.  The print was purple-brown.  I’m now almost positive it is a brick-cap, but as I found 3 more tonight in the same area, I’m doing a print on those just in case the faint print I just saw was somehow deceptive to my eye.

P1100681P1100683P1100684

 

Update: It has been positively IDed as Schizophyllum commune, commonly eaten in parts of the world, but not around here.

About therapistsamschaperow

Psychotherapist with a specialty in working with Bipolar and multi-diagnosed individuals and their families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment